Ernst Ludwig Kirchner

Famous representative of Expressionism

To Davos seeking treatment

Kirchner sought treatment in Davos in 1917. Here the most famous representative of Expressionism continued his extensive work. He painted farmers at their work and visionary landscapes, which capture a stunning impression of the Alpine landscape.

Ernst Ludwig Kirchner was born in 1880 in Aschaffenburg, Germany. Following an architectural course in Dresden, he and his friends Fritz Bleyl, Erich Heckel and Karl Schmidt-Rottluff founded the artists society "Brücke" [bridge]. In 1911, Kirchner moved to Berlin. Then came the turning point: in 1913 the friendship of the "Brücke" artists was broken and during his training as a soldier Kirchner suffered a collapse. After hospital stays in Königstein in Taunus and Kreuzlingen on Lake Constance, he sought healing in Davos in 1917. During the years that followed, he reached an initial high point in his work with his expressive pieces.

The richness of colours and the radiance of the paintings are a trademark of Kirchner.
No one else has these colours

As an architect student, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner was well aware of how to deal with the painting areas on his canvases. His large-scale, strongly coloured expressionist paintings were his trademark. A style that Kirchner characterised with his extremely personal, representational and objective notes. The richness of colour and the charisma of the paintings of Kirchner, his expressive paintings of figures and city scenes, the majestic mountain landscapes of Davos and the later abstract works still delight to this day.

Kirchner Museum Davos

The majority of artistic works from Kirchner are appreciated by Davos in its Kirchner Museum, founded by the art dealer Roman Norbert Ketterer. The architecture of the Kirchner Museum in Davos supports the intention of bringing people and art together. The crystalline building constitutes the architectural counterpart to the art of Ernst Ludwig Kirchner.

Kirchner Museum Davos
Promenade 82
7270 Davos Platz
Tel. +41 81 410 63 00
info@kirchnermuseum.ch
www.kirchnermuseum.ch

Book hotel or apartment now!
 
Persons
Arrival
Depart

Ernst Ludwig Kirchner

Wichtigster Vertreter des Expressionismus

Nach Davos als Heilungssuchender

Kirchner suchte 1917 in Davos Heilung. Hier setzte der bekannteste Vertreter des Expressionismus sein umfangreiches Werk fort. Er malte Bauern bei der Arbeit und visionäre Landschaften, die den überwältigenden Eindruck der Alpenlandschaft fassen. 

Ernst Ludwig Kirchner wurde 1880 in Aschaffenburg, Deutschland, geboren. Nach einem Architekturstudium in Dresden gründete er mit seinen Freunden Fritz Bleyl, Erich Heckel und Karl Schmidt-Rottluff die Künstlergemeinschaft "Brücke". 1911 zog Kirchner nach Berlin um. Dann kam die Wende: 1913 zerbrach die Freundschaft der "Brücke"-Künstler und während seiner Ausbildung zum Soldaten erlitt Kirchner einen Zusammenbruch. Nach Klinikaufenthalten in Königstein im Taunus und Kreuzlingen am Bodensee suchte er 1917 in Davos Heilung. Hier setzte er sein umfangreiches Werk fort. In den folgenden Jahren erreichte er mit seinen expressiven Werken einen ersten Höhepunkt seines Schaffens.

Der Farbenreichtum und die Strahlkraft der Gemälde sind ein Markenzeichen von Kirchner.
"Keiner hat diese Farben wie ich"

Als studierter Architekt wusste Ernst Ludwig Kirchner bestens, wie er mit der Malfläche auf seinen Leinwänden umzugehen hatte. Seine grossflächige, farbstarke Ausdrucksmalerei war sein Markenzeichen. Ein Stil, den Kirchner mit einer sehr persönlichen, gegenständlichen und objektivierende Note versah. Der Farbenreichtum und die Strahlkraft der Gemälde Kirchners, seine expressiven Figurenbilder und Grossstadtszenen, die majestätischen Davoser Berglandschaften und die abstrakten späten Werke begeistern noch heute.

Kirchner Museum Davos

Die meisten Kunstwerke Kirchners würdigt Davos in seinem von Kunsthändler Roman Norbert Ketterer gestifteten Kirchner Museum. Die Architektur des Kirchner Museums in Davos unterstützt die Absicht, Mensch und Kunst zusammen zu bringen. Das kristalline Gebäude stellt das architektonische Pendant zu Ernst Ludwig Kirchners Kunst dar.

Kirchner Museum Davos
Promenade 82
7270 Davos Platz
Tel. +41 81 410 63 00
info@kirchnermuseum.ch
www.kirchnermuseum.ch

Jetzt Hotel oder Ferienwohnung buchen!
 
Personen
Anreise
Abreise