Arthur Conan Doyle

The creator of Sherlock Holmes

Brilliant deduction, Holmes

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is the creator of the heroic detective Sherlock Holmes. Doyle regarded himself more as Dr. Watson – a pragmatist. So pragmatic, in fact, that he also headed off on dangerous ski tours – and so heralded in the skiing boom in Davos.

Arthur Conan Doyle laid the foundation stone for British for the skiing boom in Davos with his ski tour report.

A deerstalker hat, a magnifying glass and a Calabash pipe. What does that make you think of? Most people would answer ”Sherlock Holmes” like a shot. No wonder: the fictitious character, invented by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, has become the epitome of the detective. However, what very few people know about Doyle is that he is regarded as the promoter of skiing in Davos.

Famous ski tour from Davos to Arosa

Doyle allowed his famous fictitious character to die in 1893 – and learned an, as yet, unknown sport in Davos: skiing. It was no other than the very first two pioneers of skiing, Tobias and Johannes Branger, who showed him the ropes. Doyle learned quickly. Precisely one year after the Brangers had established the trail from Davos to Arosa over the Maienfelder Furgga on 23 March 1893, they repeated this difficult tour with a famous guest: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

Doyle’s ski tour report attracts massive attention

Doyle’s portrayal of this legendary ski tour in the British magazine “Strand Magazine” in December 1894 is an absolute hit. And it is reprinted many times – not least because of his ability to laugh at himself. An example perchance? Reporting on his descent into the valley in tweed knickerbockers, Doyle reports: “My tailor claims that Harris tweed does not wear. That is pure theory and does not stand up to through inspection. My tailor can now view many samples of his material between the Furgga Pass and Arosa.” It is the first English report about a ski tour to attract massive attention in Great Britain. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle thereby lays down the foundation stone for the boom in skiing in Davos.

Interview with
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Book hotel or apartment now!
 
Persons
Arrival
Depart

Arthur Conan Doyle

Erfinder des Detektivs Sherlock Holmes

Gut kombiniert, Holmes

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle ist der Erfinder des heroischen Detektivs Sherlock Holmes. Sich selber sah Doyle mehr als Dr. Watson – als Pragmatiker. So pragmatisch packte er denn auch jeweils gefährliche Skitouren an. Und läutete damit den Skisport-Boom in Davos ein.

Arthur Conan Doyle legte mit seinem Skitour-Bericht den Grundstein für die britische Begeisterung für Skisport in Davos.

Eine Deerstalker-Mütze, eine Lupe und eine Calabash-Pfeife. Was kommt Ihnen dabei in den Sinn? "Sherlock Holmes", würden die meisten wie aus der Pistole geschossen antworten. Kein Wunder: Die von Sir Arthur Conan Doyle erfundene Romanfigur ist zum Inbegriff des Detektivs schlechthin geworden. Was hingegen die wenigsten über Doyle wisssen: Er gilt als Promotor des Skisports in Davos.

Berühmte Skitour von Davos nach Arosa

1893 lässt Doyle seine berühmte Romanfigur sterben – und lernt in Davos eine noch ziemlich unbekannte Sportart: Skifahren. Keine Geringeren als die zwei Skipioniere der ersten Stunde, Tobias und Johannes Branger, zeigen ihm, wie es geht. Doyle lernt schnell. Genau ein Jahr nachdem die Brangers am 23. März 1893 erstmals den Weg von Davos nach Arosa über die Maienfelder Furgga bezwungen hatten, wiederholen sie diese schwierige Tour mit einem berühmten Gast: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

Doyles Skitour-Bericht löst in riesiges Echo aus

Doyles Schilderung dieser legendären Skitour in der britischen Zeitschrift "Strand Magazine" vom Dezember 1894 ist ein absoluter Renner. Und wird etliche  Male nachgedruckt – nicht zuletzt wegen ihrer Selbstironie. Beispiel gefällig? Über seine Talfahrt in Tweed-Knickerbocker berichtet Doyle: "Mein Schneider behauptet, Harris-Tweed verschleisse nicht. Das ist reine Theorie, die einer gründlichen Überprüfung nicht standhält. Zwischen Furggapass und Arosa kann er zahlreiche Proben seines Stoffes besichtigen" Es ist der erste englische Bericht über eine Skitour, der in Grossbritannien ein riesiges Echo auslöst. Damit legt Sir Arthur Conan Doyle den Grundstein für den Skisport-Boom in Davos.

Interview mit
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Jetzt Hotel oder Ferienwohnung buchen!
 
Personen
Anreise
Abreise