Wissensstadt Davos

Davos has a rich tradition of transfer of knowledge

Thomas Mann, Arthur Conan Doyle and Robert Louis Stevenson are just some of the many imparters of knowledge that have been active in Davos in the past. The "Wissensstadt Davos" ("Knowledge Town Davos") association works to ensure that Davos will continue to be a location for the generation of valuable knowledge in the future. As the home of four internationally renowned research institutes with hundreds of academics from all around the world, today Davos is highly significant in the international research segment.

The transfer of knowledge is a tradition in Davos: As early as 1878 the first grammar school was founded, and just a few years later the first research institute followed. Even the famous physicist Albert Einstein left his mark, with the Davos university courses . In 1972, the region of Davos together with public figures in Davos, established the foundation "Forum Davos". The resultant association Wissensstadt Davos was founded a good 30 years later, and is intended to ensure that Davos will continue to be a location for the generation of valuable knowledge in the future. The objective: To reinforce research and education in Davos, to create meeting platforms for inter and trans disciplinary exchanges and to further innovative training and further education offerings, courses and conferences. As the home of four internationally renowned research institutes (institute for snow and avalanche research (SLF), institute for allergy and asthma research (SIAF), AO research institute (joint venture for osteosynthesis issues), physical-meteorological observatorium and world radiation centre (PMOD)), Davos is highly significant to the international scientific and research community.

TANSLATE EN: Seit 1942 besteht das WSL-Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung SLF. 1996 hat es seinen Sitz vom Weissfluhjoch nach Davos Dorf verlegt.
The WSL-Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research (SLF) was founded in 1942. In 1996, it relocated its head office from Weissfluhjoch to the Village of Davos.
Local members of the association Wissensstadt Davos
  • Institute for snow and avalanche research (SLF)
  • Physical-meteorological observatorium and world radiation centre (PMOD) 
  • Institute for allergy and asthma research (SIAF)
  • AO research institute (joint venture for osteosynthesis issues)
  • Swiss text academy
  • Kirchner Museum Davos
  • Global Risk Forum -  GRF Davos
  • Destination Davos Klosters
  • Swiss Alpine High School Davos
  • European Asthma and Allergy Centre Davos 
  • Davos district
  • Klosters-Serneus district
  • Davos hospital

www.wissensstadt.ch

Training and development

High schools

Over the years, the training facilities on offer in Davos have consistently increased.  Two high schools are situated in Davos. The Swiss Alpine High School SAMD and the Swiss Sports Grammar School Davos SSGD. Further schools and courses complete the education and training options on offer in Davos.

www.samd.ch
www.sportgymnasium.ch

University education

Davos was the starting point for a new education concept. In 1921 the sculptor Philipp Modrow planned a ladies' university with tuition in the language Esperanto. However, the project failed. Today, the university courses in Davos remain legendary. They were opened in March 1928 by Albert Einstein. Present were 45 university lecturers and over 350 students from right across Europe.

www.juniorcom.ch

Grisons Technical College for Medical Massage, Davos (BMMD)

Grisons technical college for medicinal massage, Davos (BMMD) is managed and overseen by physicians and is a private training establishment for the health sector recognised by the canton (state) of Grisons. The BMMD is a leading medicinal technical college in Switzerland and provides training across the entire field of physical treatment through medicinal massage. It is the only educational institute in Switzerland to offer a diploma course enabling successful students to enter direct training as a physiotherapist in the EU. 

www.bmmd.ch

Swiss Text Academy

The Swiss Text Academy is a public foundation that promotes the German language in business and industry . The academy runs regular university and polytechnic training events in Davos. 

www.textakademie.ch

The Global Risk Forum - GRF Davos

The Global Risk Forum (GRF) in Davos is a Davos-based foundation, which develops specific solutions for integral disaster and risk management, and climate change .The GRF in Davos supports the global exchange of experience and makes an important contribution to the UN Hyogo Framework for Action.The GRF aims to focus more on synergy by working together more effectively.The GRF in Davos serves as a centre for the exchange of knowledge and experience.It aims to facilitate the transfer and application of appropriate disaster and risk management strategies, in addition to providing tools and practical solutions.  The GRF in Davos works closely with political institutions, national and international organisations, scientific  and economic spheres and the public.

www.grforum.org

Davos Doctors’ Forum

All physicians and students of the clinical semester are entitled to participate in the Doctors’ Forum that takes place regularly in Davos. Different workshops on current topics are also organised. www.davoscongress.ch/aerzteforum

Davos has been hosting conventions since the 19th century and thus has evolved a rich system for the conventions. Even then, renowned guests and physicians from all over Europe lived in this mountain resort and exchanged expert knowledge at special conferences. In 1923, the physicians of Davos organised their first international convention.

Book hotel or apartment now!
 
Persons
Arrival
Depart

Wissensstadt Davos

Wissensvermittlung hat in Davos Tradition

Thomas Mann, Arthur Conan Doyle und Robert Louis Stevenson sind nur einige von vielen Wissenschaftlern, die in der Vergangenheit in Davos gewirkt haben. Der Verein "Wissensstadt Davos" sorgt dafür, dass auch in Zukunft wertvolles Wissen in Davos geschaffen wird. Als Standort von international renommierten Forschungsinstituten mit hunderten von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus aller Welt hat Davos heute einen hohen Stellenwert in der internationalen Forschungsgesellschaft.

Bereits 1878 wurde in Davos das erste Gymnasium gegründet und wenige Jahre später das erste Forschungsinstitut. Auch der berühmte Physiker Albert Einstein hinterliess mit den Davoser Hochschulkursen seine Spuren. 1972 gründete die Landschaft Davos zusammen mit Davoser Persönlichkeiten die Stiftung "Forum Davos". Der daraus resultierende Verein Wissensstadt Davos wurde gut 30 Jahre später konstituiert und sorgt dafür, dass auch in Zukunft wertvolles Wissen in Davos geschaffen wird. Die Ziele: Den Forschungs- und Bildungsplatz Davos stärken und ausbauen, die Schaffung von Begegnungsplattformen für den inter- und transdisziplinären Austausch und den Aufbau von innovativen Ausbildungs- und Weiterbildungsangeboten, Kursen und Konferenzen. Als Standort von international renommierten Forschungsinstituten (Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung SLF, Institut für Allergie- und Asthmaforschung SIAF, AO Forschungsinstitut Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Osteosynthesefragen, Physikalisch-Meteorologisches Observatorium und Weltstrahlungszentrum PMOD) hat Davos einen hohen Stellenwert in der internationalen Wissensgesellschaft.

Seit 1942 besteht das WSL-Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung SLF. 1996 hat es seinen Sitz vom Weissfluhjoch nach Davos Dorf verlegt.
Seit 1942 besteht das WSL-Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung SLF. 1996 hat es seinen Sitz vom Weissfluhjoch nach Davos Dorf verlegt.
Ortsansässige Mitglieder des Vereins Wissensstadt Davos
  • Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung SLF
  • Physikalisch-Meteorologisches Observatorium und Weltstrahlungszentrum PMOD
  • Institut für Allergie- und Asthmaforschung SIAF
  • AO Forschungsinstitut (Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Osteosynthesefragen)
  • Schweizerische Text Akademie
  • Kirchner Museum Davos
  • Global Risk Forum - GRF Davos
  • Destination Davos Klosters
  • Schweizerische Alpine Mittelschule Davos
  • European Asthma and Allergy Center Davos
  • Gemeinde Davos
  • Gemeinde Klosters-Serneus
  • Spital Davos

www.wissensstadt.ch

Aus- und Weiterbildung

Mittelschulen

Im Laufe der Jahre ist das Bildungsangebot in Davos Schritt für Schritt erweitert worden. In Davos sind zwei Mittelschulen ansässig: Die Schweizerische Alpine Mittelschule SAMD und das Schweizerische Sport-Gymnasium Davos SSGD. Weitere Schulen und Kurse runden das Davoser Bildungsangebot ab.

www.samd.ch
www.sportgymnasium.ch

Hochschulbildung

Davos war Ausgangspunkt eines neuen Bildungsgedankens. 1921 plante der Bildhauer Philipp Modrow eine Frauenhochschule mit der Unterrichtssprache Esperanto. Das Projekt scheiterte jedoch. Heute noch legendär sind die Davoser Hochschulkurse. Sie wurden im März 1928 von Albert Einstein eröffnet. Mit dabei waren 45 Hochschuldozenten und über 350 Studentinnen und Studenten aus ganz Europa.

www.juniorcom.ch

Bündner Medizinische Massagefachschule Davos (BMMD)

Die Bündner Medizinische Massagefachschule Davos BMMD steht unter ärztlicher Leitung und Aufsicht und ist eine vom Kanton Graubünden kantonal (staatlich) anerkannte private Ausbildungsstätte des Gesundheitswesens. Die BMMD ist eine bedeutende medizinische Fachschule in der Schweiz und bildet für den gesamten Bereich der physikalischen Therapie medizinische Masseure aus. Sie bietet unter anderem als einzige Schule in der Schweiz einen Diplomabschluss, der eine direkte Weiterbildung zum Physiotherapeuten in der EU ermöglicht.

www.bmmd.ch

Schweizerische Text Akademie

Die Schweizerische Text Akademie ist eine Eidgenössische Stiftung, die die deutsche Sprache in Beruf und Wirtschaft fördert. Die Akademie führt regelmässig Hochschullehrgänge und universitäre Weiterbildungsveranstaltungen in Davos durch.

www.textakademie.ch

Global Risk Forum - GRF Davos

Das Global Risk Forum GRF Davos ist eine Stiftung mit Sitz in Davos, die zielgerichtete Lösungen zum integralen Katastrophen- und Risikomanagement und zum Klimawandel entwickelt. Das GRF Davos fördert den weltweiten Erfahrungsaustausch und leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag zum UN-Hyogo-Framework for Action. Ziel des GRF Davos ist es, durch eine verbesserte Zusammenarbeit vermehrt Synergien zu nutzen. Das GRF Davos dient als Zentrum für Wissens- und Erfahrungsaustausch. Es will den Transfer und die Anwendung von angemessenen Katastrophen- und Risikomanagementstrategien ermöglichen sowie Werkzeuge und praktische Lösungen anbieten. Das GRF Davos arbeitet mit politischen Institutionen, nationalen und internationalen Organisationen, der Wissenschaft, der Wirtschaft und der Öffentlichkeit eng zusammen.

www.grforum.org

Ärzteforum Davos

Am regelmässig stattfindenden Davoser Ärzteforum sind alle Ärzte und Studenten der klinischen Semester zur Teilnahme berechtigt. Es finden jeweils verschiedene Workshops zu aktuellen Themen statt. www.davoscongress.ch/aerzteforum

Die Wurzeln des Kongresswesens in Davos reichen bis ins 19. Jahrhundert zurück. Schon damals lebten im Höhenkurort berühmte Gäste und Mediziner aus ganz Europa. Sie tauschten an Tagungen ihr Fachwissen aus. 1923 organisierten Davoser Ärzte den ersten internationalen Kongress.

Jetzt Hotel oder Ferienwohnung buchen!
 
Personen
Anreise
Abreise