Robert Louis Stevenson

Treasure Island instead of Magic Mountain

Robert Louis Stevenson was a writer. He arrived in Davos with writer's block, and left it armed with a significant piece of literature: With "Treasure Island".

Completed his famous novel “Treasure Island” in Davos: Robert Louis Stevenson.

"Like an easy conversation". This was how Robert Louis Stevenson described the manner in which the end of his first novel "Treasure Island" came to him. However, it was not always quite so straightforward. Just a few months earlier he was racking his brains for the ending to his pirate tale. Without success. Stevenson travelled just a short time later to Davos, in order to take time out to recuperate in the world famous high altitude climate. In his suitcase he brought with him his manuscript. Was it perhaps the rural culture and the healthy alpine air that relieved his writer's block? The fact is that his craft flowed with ease just shortly after his arrival and Stevenson continued his writing. One chapter every day.

The novel has been captured on film over 20 times and translated into numerous languages. The end of the story exhibits a number of parallels with Davos . For example, the protagonist Jim Hawkins intends to spend part of his fortune on his education. A mentality that applies in Davos today more than ever.

The transfer of knowledge is a tradition in Davos

As early as 1878 the first grammar school was founded in Davos and soon after the turn of the century Carl Dorno opened the first research institute. In 1928, Albert Einstein opened the Davos university courses, which were intended to mobilise internationally renowned persons from politics and science. In 1972 the region of Davos, together with public figures in Davos, established the foundation "Forum Davos" - with the aim of "promoting scientific studies, academic development and the transfer of knowledge, in particular in the overlapping fields of nature, engineering, medicine and the humanities".  Wissensstadt Davos was established as an association on the 30th June 2004.

www.wissensstadt.ch

Treasure Island (1950)
Trailer
Book hotel or apartment now!
 
Persons
Arrival
Depart

Robert Louis Stevenson

Schatzinsel, statt Zauberberg

Robert Louis Stevenson war Schriftsteller. Er kam mit einer Schreibblockade nach Davos und verliess es wieder mit einem bedeutenden Teil Literaturgeschichte: Mit der "Schatzinsel".

Schrieb seinen berühmten Roman "Die Schatzinsel" in Davos fertig: Robert Louis Stevenson.
Schrieb seinen berühmten Roman "Die Schatzinsel" in Davos fertig: Robert Louis Stevenson.

"Wie ein leichtes Gespräch". So beschrieb Robert Louis Stevenson, wie einfach ihm die Vollendung seines ersten Romans "Die Schatzinsel" fiel. Dabei lief es nicht immer so problemlos. Schon einige Monate vorher zermürbte er sich den Kopf über das Ende seiner Piratengeschichte. Ohne Erfolg. Stevenson reiste kurze Zeit später nach Davos, um sich im mittlerweile weltbekannten Höhenklima zu erholen. Im Gepäck hatte er sein Manuskript dabei. Ob es die ländliche Kultur und die gesunde Alpenluft waren, die seine Hirnströme wieder in Schuss brachten? Fakt ist, dass sich seine Schreibblockade kurz nach Ankunft schlagartig auflöste und Stevenson wieder schrieb. Ein Kapitel pro Tag.

Der Roman wurde über 20 Mal verfilmt und in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt. Das Ende des Romans weist einzelne Parallelen zu Davos auf. So will beispielsweise der Protagonist Jim Hawkins seinen Teil des Schatzes in seine Ausbildung investieren. Eine Mentalität, die für Davos heute mehr denn je zutrifft.

Wissensvermittlung in Davos hat Tradition

Schon 1878 wurde in Davos das erste Gymnasium gegründet und gleich nach der Jahrhundertwende eröffnete Carl Dorno ein erstes Forschungsinstitut. 1928 eröffnete Albert Einstein die Davoser Hochschulkurse, die international annerkannte Persönlichkeiten aus Politik und Wissenschaft zu mobilisieren vermochten. 1972 gründete die Landschaft Davos mit einer Reihe von Davoser Persönlichkeiten die Stiftung "Forum Davos" - mit dem Ziel die "Förderung wissenschaftlicher Studien, der akademischen Fortbildung sowie der Wissensvermittlung insbesondere auf den sich überschneidenden Fachgebieten der Natur-, Ingenieur-, Medizin- und Geisteswissenschaft" zu bezwecken. Die Wissensstadt Davos wurde am 30. Juni 2004 als Verein konstituiert.

www.wissensstadt.ch

Treasure Island (1950)
Trailer
Jetzt Hotel oder Ferienwohnung buchen!
 
Personen
Anreise
Abreise