Parsenn Derby

The ski race classic

The world's first t-bar tow became operational at Christmas in 1934 at the foot of the Jakobshorn in Davos and yet 10 years earlier the Parsenn Derby was held, the ski race with the richest tradition in Switzerland. Up to the formation of the modern Ski World Cup, the Parsenn Derby was even one of the most important races in international downhill racing but today the exhausting downhill competition primarily attracts ambitious amateur racers and former professionals from around the world.

The history of the famous Davos Parsenn Derby began in 1924 with a race for men and woman from Parsennfurka to Küblis. At the suggestion of the English spa guest, Fred W. Edlin, it was organised by both Davos ski clubs: the Ski Club Davos and the Davos English Ski Club. Edlin himself was a member of the Ski Club of Great Britain, had been coming for years as a visitor to Davos and discovered the suitability of the Parsenn region for Alpine skiing.

Before the invention of the snow groomer, skiing competitions were quite unlike today's races. (Image: documentation library, Davos)
Held annually since 1924

The winner of the first Derby completed the run in 22 minutes and 27 seconds, while the fastest woman needed 35 minutes and 27 seconds. The race was a complete success and was to be held annually from then on, although the second Derby could only be held three years later because of unfavourable weather conditions. Since then it has been held every year with few interruptions.

The start has been at the summit of the Weissfluh since 1933

Before the Parsenn cable car was completed, participants first had to climb to Parsennfurka via the Wolfgang Pass. The starting point was moved several times throughout the course of the race's history - until ultimately in 1933 the men's and women's races were started from the summit of the Weissfluh and the general category was started from the Wasserscheide (watershed) underneath the Weissfluhjoch. You met the women at the finish: their ski safari finished at the Conterser Schwendi , while the men had to continue on to Küblis.

"Cyclocross" up to 1942

Participants were able to choose their own route up to 1942, but when Edy Rominger achieved a time of under 14 minutes by taking a detour of the summit, two compulsory gates were called for at the Wasserscheide, or watershed, and in the Schwendi. In comparison, there are now 35 gates positioned over half of the route. There was no actual ski slope, as such, there at the time and each participant chose his own approximately 13 km long route. Things stayed that way until the invention of the piste machine.

Today it is a public race for amateur skiers and former professionals.

Since the launch of the Ski World Cup in 1967, the Parsenn Derby has lost some of its international kudos and today is it regarded more as a public race in which amateur ski racers and prominent former professional racers can taken part. The winner's board carries names like Nando Pajarola, Josef Minsch, Walter Vesti, Urs Lehmann, Martina Accola or Kristian Ghedina, who was the first Italian to win the Derby in 2002. The route has recently been shortened for organisational and weather-related reasons and the finish line has been at Erezäss since 1998. A team event was also inaugurated in 2000, with each team consisting of four men or women skiers. More information on the Parsenn Derby can be found on the Ski Club of Davos website at: www.scdavos.ch.

Amateur-Video
Parsenn Derby
Book hotel or apartment now!
 
Persons
Arrival
Depart

Parsenn Derby

Der Skirennsport-Klassiker

In Davos ist an Weihnachten 1934 am Fuss des Jakobshorns der erste Bügelskilift der Welt in Betrieb genommen worden. Bereits 10 Jahre früher fand mit dem Parsenn Derby das heute traditionsreichste Skirennen der Schweiz statt. Das Parsenn Derby gehörte bis zur Gründung des modernen Skiweltcups sogar zu den bedeutendsten Rennen im internationalen Skirennsport. Heute zieht der kräftezehrende Abfahrts-Wettbewerb vornehmlich ambitionierte Amateurrennfahrer und Ex-Profis aus aller Welt an.

Die Geschichte des berühmten Davoser Parsenn Derbys beginnt 1924 mit einem Rennen für Damen und Herren von der Parsennfurka nach Küblis. Veranstalter waren auf Anregung des englischen Kurgastes Fred W. Edlin die beiden Davoser Skiclubs: der Ski Club Davos und der Davos English Ski Club. Edlin selbst gehörte dem Ski Club of Great Britain an, kam Jahre zuvor als Kurgast nach Davos und entdeckte die Eignung des Parsenn-Gebietes für den alpinen Skilauf.

Vor der Erfindung der Pistenmaschine waren Ski-Wettbewerbe nicht mit heutigen Rennen zu vergleichen. (Bild: Dokumentationsbibliothek Davos)
Vor der Erfindung der Pistenmaschine waren Ski-Wettbewerbe nicht mit heutigen Rennen zu vergleichen. (Bild: Dokumentationsbibliothek Davos)
Seit 1924 jährlich ausgetragen

Der Sieger des ersten Derbys bewältigte die Strecke in 22 Minuten und 27 Sekunden, während die schnellste Dame 35 Minuten und 37 Sekunden benötigte. Das Rennen war ein Erfolg und sollte von nun an jährlich stattfinden. Wegen ungünstiger Witterungsbedingungen konnte das zweite Derby allerdings erst drei Jahre später ausgetragen werden. Seither findet es, mit wenigen Unterbrechungen, jedes Jahr statt.

Seit 1933 wird vom Weissfluhgipfel gestartet

Bis zur Fertigstellung der Parsennbahn mussten alle Teilnehmer zunächst über den Wolfgangpass zur Parsennfurka aufsteigen. Der Startpunkt wurde im Laufe der Geschichte mehrmals verlegt - bis er schliesslich 1933 für Damen und Herren auf dem Weissfluhgipfel und für die allgemeine Kategorie auf der Wasserscheide unterhalb des Weissfluhjochs durchgeführt wurde. Beim Ziel kam man den Damen entgegen: Für sie war die Ski-Safari bei der Conterser Schwendi zu Ende, während die Herren noch bis nach Küblis durchhalten mussten. 

Querfeldein bis 1942

Bis 1942 konnten sich die Teilnehmer ihre eigene Streckenwahl aussuchen. Als jedoch Edy Rominger mit einer Gipfelabkürzung erstmals eine Zeit unter 14 Minuten erreichte, wurden zwei Pflichttore auf der Wasserscheide und in der Schwendi verlangt. Im Vergleich dazu sind heute bereits auf halber Strecke 35 Tore gesetzt. Eine eigentliche Piste war damals nicht vorhanden. Jeder wählte seine eigene, ca. 13 km lange Route. Das blieb bis zur Erfindung der Pistenmaschinen so.

Heute Volksrennen für Hobbyskirennfahrer und Ex-Profis

Ab Einführung des Skiweltcups 1967 hat das Parsenn Derby an internationaler Bedeutung verloren – heute ist es insbesondere ein Volksrennen, an dem Hobbyskirennfahrer und prominente Ex-Skirennfahrer teilnehmen. So finden sich auf der Siegertafel Namen wie etwa Nando Pajarola, Josef Minsch, Walter Vesti, Urs Lehmann, Martina Accola oder Kristian Ghedina, der 2002 als erster Italiener das Derby gewann. Aus organisatorischen und witterungsbedingten Gründen ist die Strecke in jüngerer Vergangenheit verkürzt worden. Seit 1998 liegt das Ziel beim Erezsäss. Und seit 2000 wird auch ein Mannschaftsrennen veranstaltet, wobei jede Mannschaft aus vier Läufern bzw. Läuferinnen besteht. Mehr Informationen zum Parsenn Derby gibt's auf der Webseite des Skiclubs Davos: www.scdavos.ch.

Amateur-Video
Parsenn Derby
Jetzt Hotel oder Ferienwohnung buchen!
 
Personen
Anreise
Abreise