• DAVW4042
  • Blick über den Davosersee nach Davos
  • AMAG0638

Magic mountain, party city and meeting place

Davos is the highest town in Europe, famed for the diversity of sports, leisure and cultural offers, its rejuvenating climate, the HC Davos, the Spengler Cup, the Kirchner Museum, the World Economic Forum and the celebrated freestyle scene on Jakobshorn.

Davos originally enjoyed its prominence thanks to its rejuvenating climate, which has been renowned for around 150 years. As early as 1860 the first Davos guest house was opened to welcome spa guests. The German physician who immigrated here, Alexander Spengler, opened a recuperation spa for lung illnesses, which primarily comprised extensive sleep on the sun terraces of Davos, along with Veltliner wine. This treatment made Davos world renowned, and in 1924 the novel "The Magic Mountain" by Thomas Mann made the location immortal in a literary sense too. Alongside Mann, numerous other writers, artists and philosophers also travelled to Davos. They brought their own culture with them, made the spa town famous in their works, or were responsible for initiating the sports, event and cultural facilities that exist today.

Pioneer in winter sports

Davos was at the forefront of the development of modern winter sports. The history of the world renowned Davos sledge started in the 19th century. The sledge received its name at the first historic sledge race in 1883, in Davos. In 1921 in Davos, the Hockey Club Davos was established and today it is akin to myth and living legend. 1923 witnessed the first Spengler Cup, the oldest and most famous international ice-hockey tournament in the world. The Parsenn Derby is the most traditional ski race in Switzerland and took place for the first time in 1924. Ten years later, the first t-bar ski lift in the world was put into operation on the Bolgen. In more modern times, Davos created headlines when it established the freestyle scene in the 1980s. At that time, the Jakobshorn was the only mountain on which snowboarders were permitted to use the lifts. 

In 1934 the first t-bar ski lift in the world was put into operation in Davos.
Sport and health: then, as now, an essential part of Davos.
The attractive leisure facilities beyond the big cities made Davos a trend setter from a very early age onwards.
Benefits of town and country alike

Davos is the highest town in Europe (1,560 m above sea level). The quality and diversity of its facilities is unique: First class leisure options in summer and winter alike in an intact, imposing mountain world, exemplary meeting infrastructure, internationally acclaimed sports and cultural events, renowned museums, galleries and music festivals. With its characteristic alpine flat roof, Davos has developed its very own building style. The Davos ice stadium (1981) is one of the most architecturally interesting of its kind in Europe. Exceptional hotels, restaurants and shopping opportunities are further advantages of the alpine metropolis.

Party town of Davos

The development of an attractive range of leisure facilities all around the urbanised centre made Davos an early trendsetter with respect to leisure stays in the mountains. As such, for over 100 years Davos has boasted coffee houses, theatres, concerts and even six cinemas in which to entertain its guests. This role as a trendsetter, which - during the years of tuberculosis in Europe - acted to generate a spirit of optimism, has remained true of what is now the highest town in the Alps to this day. As such, the most diverse selection of nightlife activities in the Alps is also found here. In addition, the town boasts numerous ski huts and snow bars, in which guests relax with lively après ski fun.  Ultimately, here on the fun mountain Jakobshorn lies what could be termed the birthplace of après ski.

Meeting, knowledge and research town

Davos is the clear leader in the global meeting market in the mountains. With good reason: Davos possesses a rich tradition, as the leading-edge conference centre in the Alps and, in the World Economic Forum (WEF), hosts an event with pronounced international charisma. However, Davos is far more than simply a meeting town: The town is home to a range of renowned research stations such as the AO, national institute for snow and avalanche research, a wide range of specialised clinics and hospitals, whilst also being a town for energy, education and knowledge at the same time. All of this, embedded in a natural environment, located 1560 m above sea level, is what creates the globally renowned "Spirit of Davos".  

Where is the "magic mountain"?

Davos has been frequently associated with the "Magic Mountain" for almost 100 years. The phrase "Magic Mountain" is in fact often used as a synonym for the spot. But what and where is the magic mountain?

The most important fact first: "The Magic Mountain" is the title of a novel and masterpiece by Thomas Mann. Thomas Mann gained inspiration for his tale during his own stay in Davos. His wife Katia was ill with catarrh on the apex of the lungs, and travelled to a recuperation spa at the woodland sanitorium in Davos. This afforded Thomas Mann extensive first-hand information on life in the sanitorium. As a result of his impressions and armed with the letters that his wife wrote to him from the sanitorium, he embarked on writing his novel, which he worked on between 1913 and 1915, before finishing in 1924 after a break lasting a number of years.

The work "the magic mountain"

Hans Castorp, the main character in Thomas Mann's novel "The Magic Mountain", visits his cousin, who is recuperating in a Davos sanitorium with the aid of the mountain air. Castorp - fascinated by life in the sanitorium - defines the image of the sanitorium guests anew. For Castorp, life in the sanitorium becomes the mass of all things...the "magic mountain". Five years after the novel was published, Thomas Mann received the Nobel Prize for Literature in Sweden, rendering his entire works immortal.

In the novel, readers find the magic mountain located on Davos's Schatzalp. The image shows the former sanitorium on the Schatzalp, which is now a hotel. (Image: Documentation library, Davos)
Davos with the Schatzalp sanatorium, top left. (Image: documentation library, Davos)
Schatzalp as a place where things happen

On the Schatzalp, where readers of Thomas Mann's best-selling novel will find the magic mountain, the ambience, the attitude to life amidst pure art nouveau architecture, remains as it was almost 100 years ago. The architecture of the sanitorium remains unchanged. The terraces, where guests of the sanitorium rested and recuperated, serve today as sunbathing spots for the hotel guests. And anyone who has been on the Schatzalp will know: Here, enthroned above Davos, the area is truly magical - today as it was yesterday.

Davos: Justifiably a magic mountain

The "Magic Mountain" is therefore primarily a literary anecdote rooted in Davos by Thomas Mann. However, this is not based on vague origins, because at the beginning of the 20th century Davos was a magical mountain in the truest sense: Whilst the whole of Europe was suffering from tuberculosis, in Davos not a single inhabitant of the village was ill. The healing effect of the high mountain air of Davos therefore became world renowned at an early stage, which led to numerous international guests heading for Davos - including many writers, philosophers and artists such as Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Arthur Conan Doyle or Robert Louis Stevenson. These individuals brought with them their own culture, made Davos immortal in their works and even devised some of today's facilities in the spa town, as is written in the history books.

Trendsetting role for holidays in the mountains

The healthy high mountain air in conjunction with the healing mountain environment were two vital cornerstones for the rise of Davos into a world-renowned spa town - the development of an attractive range of leisure activities on the one hand, accompanied by the urbanised centre, made Davos a trendsetter for leisure vacations in the mountains early on. In its role as a trendsetter – initially during the years of tuberculosis – Davos managed to generate a spirit of optimism. This atmosphere is still palpable to this very day in what is now known as the highest town in the Alps. 

The district of Davos

In 2001, Davos became the first district in the canton of Grisons to be officially awarded the coveted "Energiestadt [energy town] label” by the Federal Department for Energy and the awarding body. As an energy town, Davos promises to operate a sustainable and results-orientated energy policy. The energy town is currently introducing measures to improve its CO2 balance and reinforce climate protection.

Facts
Country Switzerland
Canton Graubuenden
Municipality Davos
6 Divisions Davos Platz, Davos Dorf, Frauenkirch, Glaris, Monstein, Wiesen
Inhabitants ca. 13,000 (2010)
Altitude 1,560 m asl
Highest point 3,146 m asl, 10,300 feet - Flüela-Schwarzhorn
Lowest point 1,080 m asl, 3,544 feet - Landwasser
Total area 284 km2, 110 square miles
Lake Davos 3’770 m, 12,300 feet of shoreline
Temperatures winter: 0°C day / -10°C night; summer: 20°C day / 5°C night
Number of guest beds Commercially rented out: 14‘313 beds (6‘330 beds in Hotels and Pensions, 1’983 beds in Group accommodations, 6‘000 beds in apartments) plus 13‘300 beds in holiday apartments for personal use and 507 beds in clinics. Total: 28‘120 beds
Total overnight stays 2,103,146 (Total year 12/13)
Commercial overnights 1,226,284 May 12 - April 13 hotels, groups, holiday apartments (excl. clinics)
Book hotel or apartment now!
 
Persons
Arrival
Depart

• DAVW4042
  • Blick über den Davosersee nach Davos
  • AMAG0638

Zauberberg, Partystadt und Meeting Place

Davos ist die höchstgelegene Stadt Europas und berühmt für die Vielfalt des Sport-, Freizeit- und Kulturangebotes, sein Heilklima, den HC Davos, den Spengler Cup, das Kirchner Museum, das World Economic Forum oder die feiernde Freestyle-Szene am Jakobshorn. 

Ursprünglich verdankt Davos seine Bedeutung seinem Heilklima, das seit rund 150 Jahren bekannt ist. Bereits 1860 öffnete die erste Davoser Fremdenpension, die Kurgäste beherbergte. Der zugewanderte deutsche Arzt Alexander Spengler schuf eine Liegekur für Lungen-Kranke, die vor allem viel Schlaf auf den Davoser Sonnenterrassen und Veltlinerwein beinhaltete. Diese Methode machte Davos weltberühmt und wurde im 1924 erschienenen Roman "Der Zauberberg" von Thomas Mann auch literarisch unsterblich gemacht. Neben Mann reisten zahlreiche weitere Schriftsteller, Künstler und Philosophen nach Davos. Diese brachten ihre eigene Kultur mit, machten den Kurort in ihren Werken berühmt oder initiierten das heute selbstverständliche Sport-, Event- und Kulturangebot.

Pionier des Wintersports

Davos war bei der Entwicklung des modernen Wintersports an vorderster Front dabei. Die Geschichte des weltberühmten Davoser Schlittens begann im 19. Jahrhundert. Seinen Namen bekam der Schlitten am ersten, historischen Schlittenrennen 1883 in Davos. 1921 wurde in Davos der Hockey Club Davos gegründet, der heute Mythos und lebendige Legende zugleich ist. Der 1923 erstmals ausgetragene Spengler Cup ist das älteste und renommierteste internationale Eishockey-Turnier der Welt. Das Parsenn Derby ist das traditionsreichste Skirennen der Schweiz und wurde bereits 1924 das erste Mal durchgeführt. Zehn Jahre später wurde am Bolgen der erste Bügelskilift überhaupt in Betrieb genommen. In der Neuzeit sorgte Davos für Schlagzeilen als es die Freestyle-Szene in den 80iger Jahren begründete. Damals war das Jakobshorn der einzige Berg auf dem Snowboarder die Lifte benutzen durften. 

1934 wurde in Davos der erste Bügelskilift der Welt in Betrieb genommen.
1934 wurde in Davos der erste Bügelskilift der Welt in Betrieb genommen.
Sport und Gesundheit: damals wie heute zwei wichtige Angebotspfeiler von Davos.
Sport und Gesundheit: damals wie heute zwei wichtige Angebotspfeiler von Davos.
Das attraktivste Freizeitangebot jenseits der Städte machte Davos früh zum Trendsetter.
Das attraktivste Freizeitangebot jenseits der Städte machte Davos früh zum Trendsetter.
Vorzüge von Stadt und Land zugleich

Davos ist die höchstgelegene Stadt Europas (1‘560 m ü. M.). Ihr Angebot ist bezüglich Qualität und Vielfalt einmalig: Erstklassige Freizeit-Möglichkeiten im Sommer wie im Winter in einer intakten, imposanten Bergwelt, vorzügliche Meetinginfrastruktur, international beachtete Sport- und Kultur-Events, bekannte Museen, Galerien und Musikfestivals. Mit dem charakteristischen alpinen Flachdach hat Davos einen eigenständigen Baustil entwickelt. Das Davoser Eisstadion (1981) gehört zu den europaweit architektonisch interessantesten seiner Art. Ausgezeichnete Hotels, Restaurants und Shoppingmöglichkeiten sind weitere wichtige Vorzüge der Alpenmetropole. 

Partystadt Davos

Die Entwicklung eines attraktiven Freizeitangebots jenseits der urbanisierten Zentren machte Davos früh zum Trendsetter für Freizeitaufenthalte in den Bergen. So unterhielten in Davos schon vor über 100 Jahren Kaffeehäuser, Theater, Konzerte oder sogar sechs Kinos die Gäste. Diese Trendsetter-Rolle, die damals in den Tuberkolose-Jahren in Europa bereits eine Art "Aufbruchstimmung" bedeutete, hat die mittlerweile höchstgelegene Stadt der Alpen bis heute inne. So ist hier auch das vielseitigste Nightlife-Angebot der Alpen zu finden. Und dazu gibt's zahlreiche Skihütten und Schneebars, die mit beschwingtem Après-Ski-Spass locken. Schliesslich liegt hier auf dem Funmountain Jakobshorn sozusagen die Wiege des Après-Skis. 

Meeting-, Wissens- und Forschungsstadt

Davos ist der klare Leader im globalen Meeting-Markt in den Bergen. Mit gutem Grund: Davos besitzt eine reiche Meeting-Tradition, das modernste Kongresszentrum der Alpen und mit dem World Economic Forum (WEF) einen Anlass mit überragender internationaler Strahlkraft. Doch Davos ist noch viel mehr als eine Meetingstadt: Der Ort beherbergt verschiedene renommierte Forschungsstationen wie das AO, das nationale Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung, zahlreiche spezialisierte Kliniken und Spitäler, ist Energie-, Bildungs- und Wissensstadt zugleich. Das alles eingebettet in einer natürlichen Umgebung auf 1560 m ü. M., die das ausmacht, was weltweit als der "Spirit of Davos" bekannt ist.

Wo ist eigentlich der Zauberberg?

Davos wird schon seit fast 100 Jahren mit dem „Zauberberg“ in Verbindung gebracht. Oft wird das Wort „Zauberberg“ sogar als Synonym für den Ort verwendet. Doch was oder wo ist eigentlich der Zauberberg? 

Das Wichtigste vorweg: "Der Zauberberg" ist der Titel von Thomas Manns Roman-Meisterwerk. Die Inspiration zur Geschichte bekam Thomas Mann von seinem eigenen Aufenthalt in Davos. Seine Frau Katia erkrankte an Lungenspitzenkatarrh und reiste zur Liegekur ins Waldsanatorium Davos. Das bot Thomas Mann fundierte Berichte über das Leben im Sanatorium aus erster Hand. Aufgrund seiner Eindrücke und anhand von Briefen, die seine Frau ihm aus dem Sanatorium schrieb, entstand sein Roman, an dem er zwischen 1913 und 1915 arbeitete, und den er 1924 nach einer mehrjährigen Pause fertig stellte.

Das Werk "Der Zauberberg"

Hans Castorp, Hauptfigur in Thomas Manns Roman "Der Zauberberg", besucht in einem Davoser Sanatorium seinen Vetter, der sich in der Davoser Höhenluft erholt. Castorp - fasziniert vom Leben im Sanatorium - definiert das Bild der Sanatoriums-Gäste für sich ganz neu. Das Leben im Sanatorium wird für Castorp zum Mass aller Dinge...zum "Zauberberg" eben. Fünf Jahre nach der Veröffentlichung des Romans erhielt Thomas Mann den Literatur-Nobelpreis in Schweden, was sein Gesamtwerk unsterblich machte. 

Im Roman sehen die Leser den Zauberberg auf der Davoser Schatzalp angesiedelt. Im Bild das ehemalige Sanatorium Schatzalp, das heute ein Hotel ist. (Bild: Dokumentationsbibliothek Davos)
Im Roman sehen die Leser den Zauberberg auf der Davoser Schatzalp angesiedelt. Im Bild das ehemalige Sanatorium Schatzalp, das heute ein Hotel ist. (Bild: Dokumentationsbibliothek Davos)
Davos mit Sanatorium Schatzalp, oben links. (Bild: Dokumentationsbibliothek Davos)
Davos mit Sanatorium Schatzalp, oben links. (Bild: Dokumentationsbibliothek Davos)
Schatzalp als Ort des Geschehens

Auf der Schatzalp, wo die Leser des Thomas-Mann-Bestsellers den Zauberberg angesiedelt sehen, ist das Ambiente, das Lebensgefühl inmitten purer Jugendstil-Architektur fast noch wie vor 100 Jahren. Die Architektur des Sanatoriums ist erhalten geblieben. Die Terrassen, wo sich einst die Sanatoriums-Besucher auskuriert haben, dienen heute dem Sonnenbad der Hotel-Gäste. Und wer selbst mal auf der Schatzalp war, der weiss: hier, oberhalb von Davos thronend, ist der Platz wahrhaft zauberhaft - gestern wie heute. 

Davos: Zu recht ein Zauberberg

"Der Zauberberg" ist also primär eine mit Davos verwurzelte literarische Anekdote von Thomas Mann. Das kommt nicht von ungefähr, denn Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts war Davos im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes ein Zauberberg: Während in ganz Europa die Tuberkolose wütete, war in Davos kein einziger Dorf-Bewohner krank. Schon früh wurde deshalb die heilende Wirkung der Davoser Höhenluft weltbekannt, was viele internationale Gäste nach Davos lockte - darunter zahlreiche Schriftsteller, Philosophen und Künstler, wie auch Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Arthur Conan Doyle oder Robert Louis Stevenson. Diese brachten ihre eigene Kultur mit, machten Davos in ihren Werken unsterblich oder erfanden heute selbstverständliche Kommoditäten für die der Kurort in die Geschichtsbücher einging. 

Trendsetterrolle für Ferien in den Bergen

Die gesunde Höhenluft in Verbindung mit der heilen Bergwelt waren zwei wichtige Bausteine für den Aufstieg von Davos zum weltbekannten Kurort - die Entwicklung eines attraktiven Freizeitangebots jenseits der urbanisierten Zentren machte Davos früh zum Trendsetter für Freizeitaufenthalte in den Bergen. Diese Trendsetter-Rolle, die damals in den Tuberkolose-Jahren eine Art "Aufbruchstimmung" bedeutete, hat die mittlerweile höchstgelegene Stadt der Alpen bis heute inne. 

Gemeinde Davos

Als erste Gemeinde im Kanton Graubünden ist Davos 2001 vom Bundesamt für Energie und vom Trägerverein "Label Energiestadt" offiziell als Energiestadt ausgezeichnet worden. Als Energiestadt verpflichtet sich Davos zu einer nachhaltigen und ergebnisorientierten Energiepolitik. Die Energiestadt leitet Massnahmen zur Verbesserung der CO2-Bilanz ein und verstärkt den Klimaschutz.   

Fakten & Daten
Land Schweiz
Kanton Graubünden
Gemeinde Davos
6 Gemeindefraktionen Davos Platz, Davos Dorf, Frauenkirch, Glaris, Monstein, Wiesen
Einwohner Rund 13'000 (Stand 2010)
Höhe 1'560 m ü.M.
Höchster Punkt Flüela-Schwarzhorn mit 3'146 m ü.M.
Tiefster Punkt Landwasser mit 1'080 m ü. M.
Gesamtfläche 284 km2
Davosersee 3770 m Uferlinie - im Sommer bis zu 20° C
Durchschnittstemperaturen Winter: 0° Tag / -10° Nacht, Sommer: 20° Tag / 5° Nacht
Anzahl Gästebetten ~14'500 Betten (Stand Nov. 2015)
Logiernächte Siehe Statistik Logiernächte
Jetzt Hotel oder Ferienwohnung buchen!
 
Personen
Anreise
Abreise