Best of the Alps

About our membership of "Best of the Alps"

Best of the Alps is an amalgamation of twelve traditional Alpine tourism resorts in France, Italy, Switzerland, Germany and Austria.

These are world-famous, popular resorts on account of their evolved structures, their bond to local cultures and their harmonious blend of original tradition and gentle progress. In this respect, "Best of the Alps" represents both a hallmark and an award of distinction, with the twelve resorts guaranteeing the very best quality of vacation in one of the world's most amazing landscapes - the Alps.

What are the reasons behind the "Best of the Alps" community?

Life in the mountains has always been challenging and uplifting at one and the same time - where else is the interplay of man and nature as tangible and perceptible? Best of the Alps: Passion. Calling. Nature-based luxury


"Best of the Alps" has captured this special lifestyle for over 25 years in twelve of the most unique resorts in the Alps: Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, Cortina d’Ampezzo, Davos, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Grindelwald, Kitzbühel, Lech Zürs am Arlberg, Megève, Seefeld, St. Anton am Arlberg, St. Moritz and Zermatt. The timeless charm and uniqueness of these resorts generate a serious feeling of being connected to one's roots, encourage a sense of identity and free up a person's thoughts enabling many people to discover and pursue many new opportunities here to make their dreams a reality.

Unspoilt nature and some of the world's most spectacular peaks – one need only think of the Matterhorn, Eiger or Mont Blanc – are associated directly with the "Best of the Alps" resorts. These resorts have been the pioneers of visionary thinking since they were discovered by mountaineers and adventurers in the golden era of Alpinism in the second half of the 19th century. At the same time, people also feel deeply rooted in the rich heritage of the regions. Visitors cherish the pioneering spirit of their ancestors, who came here centuries ago to create a new and more modest life for themselves as farmers.

From the indefatigable toil of their first settlers, their unshakeable down-to-earth approach and intense life in and with nature has evolved the art of living sustainably in a 'living' community, which even today produces outstanding managers, entrepreneurs, craftsmen, farmers and sportsmen and women. The determination and imagination of our forefathers can still be felt and experienced today as shared basic values in the everyday life of these towns. A clear commitment to tradition, coupled with a pursuit of excellence, are what set the "Best of the Alps" resorts apart and closely link the twelve resorts to each other.

The infrastructure in these resorts, which have grown continuously over 150 years, has for some time provided a unique breeding ground for innovation, specialist knowledge, quality and versatility. There have been fundamental achievements for winter sports in the various resorts since the first winter guests arrived in St. Moritz in 1915: the first ski school, in which the world-famous downhill style was developed on the Arlberg, the first ski lift in Davos or the first Olympic Winter Games, held in Chamonix-Mont-Blanc in 1924.

The unmistakeable and inspiring spirit of the Alps is our heritage, which we undertake to pass onto the next generations.

"Best of the Alps" invites you to get to know the exceptional people in our Alpine community, discover our wonderful natural landscapes and, above all. participate in the cultures of these 12 unique Alpine destinations.

Davos is a proud member of "Best of the Alps"

Davos meets the criteria to become a full member of "Best of the Alps". The resort is international, and, as the highest Alpine town, is both urban, modern and attractive – and thanks to its many picturesque tributary valleys, it is also wonderfully rustic and traditional. The people are a motley mix, with locals socialising with newcomers, international workers with international second home-owners, and local students with students from the Swiss cantons. This creates a lively dynamic in Davos, which enables a wealth of innovations to flourish and upholds many cultures. It is therefore no wonder that Davos' tourist past is also deeply steeped in tradition. In the early days, it was shaped by a mix of visitors, who travelled to the mountains around Davos for recuperation. Winter tourism effectively evolved as many of them became so bored of the long days resting on the sun terraces. The patients practised skiing, ice-skating and tobogganed down the long run into neighbouring village of Klosters. The first ski lift was then erected on the Bolgen and the Davos-style toboggan was born. The arrival of the Rhaetian Railway in the Alps was effectively the starting pistol for Davos' modern tourism history. What then followed was a long and exciting history which reaches to the present day. Thanks to "Best of the Alps", we can convey our traditional values to the world as one of the most beautiful and most diverse Alpine resorts, which, even today, is shaped by its innovation and pioneering spirit.

www.bestofthealps.com

A number of articles have been written on various topics thanks to our cooperation with "Best of the Alps"

Culinary: Let's have a beer in Monstein

Culinary: Home is where great taste comes from

Craft & Design: What's going on with Bolt?

Craft & Design: The summer of sculptures

Craft & Design: A wooden matter of the heart

Way of life: Crossing the Alps into a new life

Outdoor: More than a Race

Outdoor: Visiting a fantasy world

Outdoor / Way of life: The après-ski pioneers of Davos

Book hotel or apartment now!
 
Persons
Arrival
Depart

Best of the Alps

Über unsere Mitgliedschaft bei Best of the Alps

Best of the Alps ist ein Zusammenschluss von zwölf klassischen Alpentourismusorten in Frankreich, Italien, der Schweiz, Deutschland und Österreich.

Alle Orte sind weltberühmt und beliebt wegen ihrer gewachsenen Strukturen, ihrer Verbundenheit zur lokalen Kultur und wegen ihrer harmonischen Mischung aus ursprünglicher Tradition und sanftem Fortschritt. In diesem Sinne ist Best of the Alps Botschaft und Auszeichnung: die zwölf Destinationen garantieren beste Urlaubsqualität in einer der faszinierendsten Landschaften der Welt, den Alpen.

Welches sind die Beweggründe zur Gemeinschaft Best of the Alps?

Schon immer war das Leben in den Bergen herausfordernd und erhebend zugleich – wo sonst ist das Zusammenspiel von Mensch und Natur so greif- und spürbar? Best of the Alps: Leidenschaft. Berufung. Naturverbundener Luxus

 

 



Seit über 25 Jahren fängt Best of the Alps dieses besondere Lebensgefühl in zwölf der einzigartigsten Destinationen in den Alpen ein: Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, Cortina d’Ampezzo, Davos, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Grindelwald, Kitzbühel, Lech Zürs am Arlberg, Megève, Seefeld, St. Anton am Arlberg, St. Moritz und Zermatt. Der zeitlose Charme und die Einzigartigkeit dieser Orte erzeugen eine grosse Heimatverbundenheit, stiften Identität und ermöglichen Gedankenfreiheit, sodass viele Menschen hier neue Chancen erkennen und ergreifen, um ihre Träume zu verwirklichen.

Unberührte Natur und einige der spektakulärsten Gipfel der Welt – man denke nur an das Matterhorn, den Eiger oder Mont Blanc – sind den Best of the Alps-Destinationen gemeinsam. Seit sie im goldenen Zeitalter des Alpinismus in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts von Kletterern und Abenteurern entdeckt wurden, gehören sie zu den Vorreitern visionären Denkens. Gleichzeitig fühlt man sich hier tief verwurzelt im reichen Erbe der Regionen. Man hält den Pioniergeist der Vorfahren in Ehren, die vor Jahrhunderten hierher kamen, um sich als Bauern ein neues, bescheidenes Leben aufzubauen.

Aus dem unermüdlichen Schaffen dieser ersten Siedler, ihrer unerschütterlichen Bodenständigkeit und dem intensiven Leben in und mit der Natur entstand die Art, nachhaltig und in lebendiger Gemeinschaft zu leben, die noch heute herausragende Führungskräfte, Unternehmer, Handwerker, Landwirte und Sportler hervorbringt. Durchhaltevermögen und Einfallsreichtum der Vorfahren sind als gemeinsame Grundwerte noch heute im Alltag dieser Orte spür- und erlebbar. Das klare Bekenntnis zur Tradition, verbunden mit dem Streben nach jener Exzellenz, die die Best oft he Alps-Destinationen auszeichnet, verbindet die zwölf Orte heute eng miteinander.

Die im Laufe von 150 Jahren kontinuierlich gewachsenen Infrastrukturen in diesen Destinationen bieten schon lange einen einzigartigen Nährboden für Innovation, besonderes Fachwissen, Qualität und Vielseitigkeit. Seit die ersten Wintergäste 1915 nach St. Moritz kamen, gab es in den verschiedenen Destinationen grundlegende Errungenschaften für den Wintersport: die erste Skischule, in der auch der weltberühmte Fahrstil entwickelt wurde, am Arlberg, den ersten Skilift in Davos oder die ersten Olympischen Winterspiele, die 1924 in Chamonix-Mont-Blanc abgehalten wurden.

Der unverkennbare und inspirierende Geist der Alpen ist unser Erbe, dem wir uns verpflichten, unseren nächsten Generationen zu hinterlassen.

Best of the Alps lädt Sie ein, die aussergewöhnlichen Menschen unserer Alpengemeinschaft kennenzulernen, wunderbare Naturlandschaften zu entdecken und vor allem, an den Kulturen dieser 12 einzigartigen Alpendestinationen teilzuhaben.

Davos ist stolzes Mitglied von Best of the Alps

Davos erfüllt die gegebenen Kriterien für eine Mitgliedschaft von Best of the Alps vollumfänglich. Die Destination ist international, als höchst gelegenste Alpenstadt gleichzeitig urban, modern, attraktiv – und dank den zahlreichen malerischen Seitentälern doch auch wunderbar ländlich und traditionell. Die Menschen sind kunterbunt gemischt, Einheimische gesellen sich mit Angesiedelten, internationale Arbeitskräfte mit internationalen Zweitwohnungsbesitzern, ortsansässige Studenten mit Schülern aus den Schweizer Kantonen. So entsteht eine spannende Davoser Dynamik, die manche Innovation entstehen und viele Kulturen pflegen lässt. Kein Wunder also, dass auch die touristische Vergangenheit Davos‘ äusserst geschichtsträchtig ist. So hat sich schon früh ein gemischtes Publikum, das zum Kuren in die Davoser Bergwelt gefahren ist, eingefunden. Und weil einige von Ihnen aufgrund der langen Liegetagen auf den Sonnenterassen derart gelangweilt waren, ist hier quasi der Wintertourismus entstanden. Die Patienten übten sich im Skilaufen, im Eislaufen und sie rodelten die lange Strecke ins benachbarte Klosters hinab. So wurde schon bald der erste Skilift am Bolgen gebaut und der Davoser Schlitten ward geboren. Mit Einzug der Rhätischen Bahn in die Berge wurde der Startschuss der heutigen Davoser Tourismusgeschichte abgefeuert. Was danach folgte, erzählt eine lange spannende Geschichte, die bis in die heutigen Tage hinein reicht. Tragen wir also dank Best of the Alps unsere Traditionswerte hinaus in die Welt als eine der schönsten und abwechslungsreichsten Alpendestinationen überhaupt, die nach wie vor mit Innovation und Erfindergeist aufwartet.

www.bestofthealps.com

Einige Geschichten, die dank der Kooperation mit Best of the Alps zu verschiedenen Themen entstanden sind


Kulinarik: Auf ein Bierchen in Monstein

Kulinarik: Das gute Essen liegt so nah

Design & Handwerk: Was geschieht mit Bolt?

Design & Handwerk: Der Sommer der Skulpturen

Design & Handwerk: Herzblut aus Holz

Lebensart: Über die Alpen in ein neues Leben

Outdoor: More than a Race

Outdoor: Zu Gast in einer Märchenwelt

Outdoor / Lebensart: Die Après-Ski-Pioniere vom Jakobshorn

Jetzt Hotel oder Ferienwohnung buchen!
 
Personen
Anreise
Abreise